CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips

Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips

Sally Hansen
Overall rating:
4.148 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
82%66 of 80reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Review 1 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
from Dix Hills NY
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: Yes
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I love the red color the easy application the way it looks and last Im a Flight Attendant my nails always chip and I manage a restaurant.
This is the first time I have time to do my nails and it last.
Thsnk you sooo much Im in love with the product
Best Regards
Dagmar
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, all of it love it
Cons: none
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from detroit, mi
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: Yes
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
Got my starter kit promptly and was really satisfied with the results! It does require a steady hand and must be done neatly (push cuticles back and do not polish right on the cuticle). When your nails grow out the polish may lift if you polish onto the cuticle. I've also tried the strips... Love them too! Not as much precision needed with the strips. But all-in-all i was completely satisfied with my purchase!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Cons: must be precisely applied
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Sally Hansen Salon Insta-Gel Strips, Wine Not
1 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gel Polishing At Home

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from Waldorf, MD
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I read the reviews before I purchase this kit. I think the lamp needs to be a bit hotter. So my gel nails will dry quicker. You can find more topcoat and bottom coat at the stores. The bottles in the kit are small. You may enough to do your nails a couple of times, maybe a third time before you are out. You can also buy the gel nail polish at other general stores too. I found more polish at Sears. It's just soo hard to get them to dry -- quicker. As a parent, I don't have the time and patience to wait about an hour for my nails to dry....but they do look pretty. A great at home starter kit!
Pros: Meets expectations
Cons: drys too slow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great At-Home set

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
from Indiana
Age: 18-24
Gender: female
I don't get manicures a lot. I love them, but as a college student I couldn't afford to go as often as I'd like. When I do my nails at home with regular polish, they would barely even make it to the following day without a chip. I LOVE this set. So far I have gotten 3 gel manicures out of it, and it's still going strong. The first time I tried it, I applied everything super, super thin and it lasted for a week and a half. It could have lasted longer, but honestly I was getting tired of the color! Haha. This red is VERY bright and bold. I love how long it stayed on as well as the beautiful mirror finish! Really looks like salon nails. The application is easy if you follow the directions. Getting it off is also very easy. The next two manicures I did, I used regular nail poilsh based on a YouTube video. You put buff and clean the nails, put two coats of your favorite normal nail polish and let it dry. Then you put the gel base coat and cure it. Then the gel top coat and cure it. These manicures lasted on average a week until small chips appeared. Even then, I just removed the polish from the one nail that was chpped and re-did it. So they lasted almost 2 weeks as well. GREAT set! Wish it lasted forever!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, easy to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SoonToBeMrs1228
Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about SoonToBeMrs1228 is loaded.
Additional information about SoonToBeMrs1228 could not be loaded.
Removing Polis
Posted June 20, 2013
It comes with a small bottle of gel remover. You soak a cotton ball and put it on your nail, then wrap it with a small piece of foil. Leave it on for 15-20 min. When you take of the cotton ball/foil, the polish just flakes off. It's kinda cool actually haha
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
texasLG
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about texasLG is loaded.
Additional information about texasLG could not be loaded.
Re your Great At Home Set
Posted June 14, 2013
That's really cool it worked with regular polish as I am looking for more colors and don't seem to see many. CURIOUS: how are you removing the manicure? Soaking ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 5 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gel Nails at Home for a Fraction of the Price

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
from Placentia, CA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I bought this kit for myself and my daughter because we have both had professional gel manicures in the past and liked them but didn't like the cost. Although the gel is not as thick as the salon's, the polish easily lasted a full week and the shine never faded. It is easy to use and doesn't take much longer than a normal manicure. Another plus is that as soon as you finish, your nails are dry and you can do whatever you want. The color selection is definitely limited, but I've used colors from other gel brands, and they work just fine. I would definitely recommend the kit if you like to keep your nails painted without the cost of the salon.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Cons: limited colors
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from Garland, TX
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
I'm a mom of 4 and must use my hands a lot. This product works perfectly! My nails are still shiney & beautiful after 1week. Will never pay for another salon manicure. Can't wait to try more colors.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, easy to apply
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
from Brooklyn, Michigan
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
I got this through a CVS online deal for $39.00 (otherwise I might not have tried it) - WONDERFUL! First time I have tried the gel polish,,,, and I won't go back to regular polish. The kit includes everything you need. The color that comes in the kit is a "nude pink" color. Which is fine,,,,, but I'll be buying some other color choices just for variety.
HIGHLY recommend this. Oh, but you need to double the drying time under the UV light #included in the kit# for better results.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves time and looks great

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
from mt
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
Had a perfect nail manicure in less than 10 minutes
Pros: Great value
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from New York
Follow directions and this polish will not chip. I am very rough with my nails and wash my hands alot due to my job. This polish lasted over a week. I think it's just as good as the salon and so much less expensive than other kits I have researched. I wish CVS would carry more colors!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I was very anxious to use this product as I love gel manicures from a salon. I am very disappointed in this product because the after applying the manicure- I have found the gel polish peels off in a matter of a few days. I have tried everything to make the manicure last, but they continue to peel off quickly.
Cons: deos not last
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Vernie
Cleveland, Oh
 
Please wait while more information about Vernie is loaded.
Additional information about Vernie could not be loaded.
Not worth the money
Posted December 27, 2012
This product doesn't do what the box claims. The polish will chip off in a matter of days. It is not easy to apply, so not worth the effort.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
FlKat
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about FlKat is loaded.
Additional information about FlKat could not be loaded.
I disagree
Posted December 20, 2012
I really like my manicure, I have not experienced any peeling issues. Did you remember to cap each nail? The only thing I don't like is how limited their color selection is. I really wish they would add more colors to the line. Besides that, I love it!
+7points
7of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Ratings-only reviews for Sally Hansen Salon Gel Polish Starter Kit, Red My Lips
Based on the average of (71) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.1 / 5
4.1 / 5
57 out of 70 recommend this product