CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At CVS/pharmacy
Shop Blood Pressure Monitors or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor

CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor

CVS/pharmacy
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
61%11 of 18reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Review 1 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Easy Fit?

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I hate that awkward and hard piece of plastic inside what they call the "easy fit" cuff. I'd much rather have the smooth continuous cuff I'm used to. It's difficult putting on and taking off. I wish I had returned it right away instead of thinking "maybe I'll get used to it" which I never did.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Inaccurate Readings

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
from NJ
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I bought this cuff, because it would fit my larger arm. The cuff comes pre-formed, which is extremely hard to get on. The pressure of the cuff is so painful, to the point it feels like I am going to bruise from using it. The readings are all over the place. I would get an extremely high reading, which didn't seem right, so I would take it again immediately, and the numbers would drop by 40 points. When you are someone who has high blood pressure, these false readings can give users a lot of undue anxiety.
Cons: inaccurate readings, cuff pressure is painful
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
from Kissimmee, FL
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
This model helps keep my high blood pressure troubles tracked, saved on computer and printable to show my doctor so that proper action can be taken. More information makes for better treatment. ALWAYS!!
My doctor LOVES the print outs in graph and chart form to make better decisions for me. My Blood pressure troubles are becoming lesser and lesser because we know what triggers spikes, my doctor can see how high it really goes and how often, adjust my medication and lower my risk of stroke or annurism from sky high blood pressure.
This product model is a GODSEND!!!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, computer software for longterm tracking, print outs to take to dr, comes with batteries and wall plug, arm cuff large enough to actually fit
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Readings

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
from CT
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I hate to give this a single star. The package was very nice and everything was there. There was a discrepancy in the instructions. One page said to load the software before plugging in the USB. Another said to wait for the software to tell you when to plug it in. At first there was a problem with the software. Called the company and was pleasantly surprised by the help. Problem was ... you cannot use a USB hub for the USB ... must be plugged in directly to the computer. The readings are totally inaccurate. Went to the doctor, compare their reading to the machine ... way off by 30 points or more on both readings. Sad. I like everything about the machine except the inaccuracy. Easy to use. Right cuff for my 16" arms. No calibration for the unit. It is what it is. Tried different "wraps" ... followed the directions to a "t". Maybe yours will be suited to your pressures.
Pros: Great value, easy to use, factory help was very good, easy to read numbers
Cons: not accurate, literature confusing
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

?

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
from Biloxi, MS
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
my DVD Rom in my system is a slot loader and will not use the small CD that comes with the unit. Is there a location I can download this software from?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer avatar
from New Orleans, LA
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
my blood pressure has been high & decided to purchase a machine. I wanted something easy and simply to use. This is exactly what I needed
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, easy to use & read
Cons: could not set the day & date
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product gives erractic and varying readouts.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
A product of this nature should be steady and foolproof. It gave 3 different readout in 2 hours.. I thought I was done. I visited the doctor the next day and they attained a normal readout and advised me on how to handle a digital monitor. They also said that readouts from digital monitors can be sometimes varying. My readouts were 189/78, 168/74, 139/82. Nothing that made sense. .
Pros: Great value, clear instructions, easy to set up, easy to read readings
Cons: erractic readouts, varying readouts, not dependable
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good. The machine is very sensitive, has great features, and instructions are clear

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
from poughkeepsie ny
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
This monitor is everything CVS and Consumer Reports said it was. Many features, clear directions on how to use it, giant cuff for big arms. It took me a while to program the date and time but succeeded in the end.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No MAC Software

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from San Diego, CA
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
The unit itself seems to function well. Unfortunately CVS does not offer the tracking software for MAC, they only offer it for Windows Operating Systems. I am returning the machine because I want to be able to download the readings for my doctor visits. What a shame CVS only chooses to cater to PC users.
Cons: not compatible with mac
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for me

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from Birmingham, AL
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
I had been looking for a BP Cuff that will fit my husband. Those cuffs were so expensive. The cuff was a great value and it fits great. The features were comparable with the more expensive cuffs so I'm satisfied.
Pros: Great value
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made equipment

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
from South Carolina
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
The feature that allow you to take three sequential readings, then gives you the average, was key in my decision to buy this product
Pros: Meets expectations
Cons: a bit slow getting reading
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the features and computer software

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
from Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
I love the size of the cuff. Not only does it fix my large arms, but the quality of the cuff is outstanding. The part that goes around your arm is stiff and form fitting , which allows you to with your other hand easily wrap the cuff and secure into place.
The screen is much bigger than those wrist cuff monitors, the time readings and even the battery life icon on the screen is huge. Works for someone like me that wears glasses and eyes get blurry from when my pressure is high.
The carrying case is of good quality and the hose from the cuff is of good quality. Very easy to set up and synch your readings and times to your computer. I am able to use the graphs on the screen of my computer to easily view what times of day my pressure changes. The software is easy to use and if you are not a computer saavy person, you are provided in the paper work and on the unit a phone number where someone can easily walk you through configuring the software and helping you with your first reading and how to synch from the unit to the computer. Excellent customer service.
Comes with all the batteries, AC/DC plug and blue tooth adapter to help synch to your computer. The blue tooth plug has USB connector.
Love this monitor!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, cuff fits, easy to view readings, printable reports for your doctor, saves the readings until you plug to pc
Cons: on off button turns on easiily, icon for person one and 2 changes easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Computer Software

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
from Indianapolis
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
User submitted photo
THE GOOD:
The highlight of this unit is the ability to download collected BP readings to your (or your doctor's) computer. Does this work well? YES! On my Win 7 HP computer installation was uneventful. The Microlife BPA 3.2 software requires you to enter your name and a patient ID number (the ID your doctor has given you or an arbitrary number). Next simply plug in the USB cable and link the patient ID created to either the BP meter's user 1 or 2. Then whenever you plug in the USB cable the software recognizes you automatically and downloads the accumulated BP readings. The software can graph, chart or display in a table the BP readings from a range of dates. It can average and compare morning and evening readings. The BP data can be exported as XML or CSV (comma separated values) for backup or to import into another program. I plan to bring a printout whenever I visit my doctor.
It has a switch to select one reading or MAM (Measurement Averaging Mode) which automatically takes 3 consecutive blood pressure readings and averages the results. I found that the unit was very precise and that MAM was not really necessary. The results are the same as my older arm style BP meter. The unit has a back-lite display with very large numbers so a BP reading can be taken in a dark room. The lighted display will impact battery life, but it comes with an AC adapter. The unit itself has a lifetime warranty from CVS, but the BP cuff only has a 1-year warranty. Once you adjust the cuff to your arm size, it is possible to slide it off and then on again without adjusting the size. When connected to a PC, the date can be sent to the unit instead of setting it manually, but BP readings cannot to taken when plugged into a PC.
THE BAD:
The unit is not the best for travel since it is both larger and heavier than some other models. Although it comes with a soft case, it is very easy to bump the Start button (there is no ON button) and it immediately begins a BP reading. Removing the batteries to prevent it turning on, erases the date. Unfortunately, there is no way to delete a faulty BP reading (either on the unit or in the PC software). Although 2 users can be selected, there is no “Guest” mode if a friend asks to check his BP. Moreover it is easy to accidentally select the wrong user when taking a BP. The manual claims that rechargeable batteries can be used, but I found that they do not work.
Pros: Meets expectations, lighted display, software
Cons: easy to accidently turn on, easy to select wrong user, relatively expensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Daily use only lasts 3 months

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
from MA
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I bought this heart monitor to be able to take my blood pressure daily after quadrupple heart bypass surgery. After three months, it was no longer able to pump enough air into the cuff to continue functioning. I wish, I would have choosen another brand.
Pros: large numbers on display, carrying case included, long air hose to cuff
Cons: stops working after daily usage in 3 months, cuff difficult to tighten with one hand, memory features difficult to use, on/off switches activate when stored in case
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DrLarry
Sacramento, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DrLarry is loaded.
Additional information about DrLarry could not be loaded.
Same experience - cuff bladder leaks
Posted January 14, 2013
I also had this experience. I'm not sure if it has anything to do with 4-way CABG <wink>; but the bladder started leaking only a few months after using twice a day. Also, the battery life is very short, although plugging it in to the AC outlet circumvented that problem with only minor inconvenience of range...
Yes, the buttons are placed so that you have to learn how to pick it up without turning it on or changing the user - but the features of multiple (3) inflations and averaging the results, along with the irregular heartbeat monitor makes me wish that there were replacement cuffs available (that are conveniently shaped like the original).
If CVS can help, contact me via email.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Button Placement

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
from Hawaii
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
Great features HOWEVER the placement of the on/off button and the timer and Memory buttons should be relocated. All of these buttons can be mistakenly pressed just by picking up the machine. Also, would be nice ot be able to delete individual readings
Cons: button placement
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features at a reasonable cost.

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
from Douglas, GA
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
I used to use an OMRON BP meter but it finally gave up the ghost. I did a lot of research with features vs value. And this one made the grade. The pc software was an added bonus. Readings are on par with those taken at my doctor's office. So no problems. By the way the software provided works on Windows 7.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, all features are provided and easy to change if ne
Cons: cannot connect to pc until bp readings done.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+38points
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Falls Short of Expectations

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer avatar
from Plano, TX
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
We found the cuff adjustment unsatisfactory; it is too large and adjustment to arm was difficult. Also, reviewing memory details is not as easy or intuitive as we would like it to be. When setting up the monitor, the on/off switch is too easy to bump on prior to wanting to start the pressure reading.
Pros: price okay numbers easy to read
Cons: cuff too big hard to adjust, memory not easy to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
16of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
nana
Plano, TX
 
Please wait while more information about nana is loaded.
Additional information about nana could not be loaded.
Re[ly to EMT1
Posted April 29, 2012
If I had never used a blood pressure cuff prior to using this one, I might agree that unfamiliarity with the use of one was a contributing factor. In fact, I have experience with two units prior to this one (one that we owned and one that my mother had and I used on her) and never had any issues with either. I didn't think that using one would bring me "joy" and I do understand that the use of one is for medical use. Of course, as an EMT your experience is much superior to mine but that didn't change the fact that adjusting the cuff on myself (not someone else adjusting it) was difficult and it did affect the accuracy of the reading. We now have a different blood pressure machine and are experiencing no problems and are totally satisfied with it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
EMT1
Columbia, SC
 
Please wait while more information about EMT1 is loaded.
Additional information about EMT1 could not be loaded.
User needs More education.
Posted April 27, 2012
This type of equipment is used to get medical information and not for the joy of the user. Having been in the emergency medical field, I can tell you that things are not always easy, but as long as they are accurate, that is what matters
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 18 for CVS Professional Automatic Blood Pressure Monitor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Product!!!

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Customer avatar
from Kansas City, Missouri
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I have just had Triple By-Pass Surgery and need to watch my Blood Pressure. This CVS Monitor works very well, eazy to read, eazy to use. It also is very accurate! Would highly recommend to anyone.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+60points
117of 174voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.