CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At CVS/pharmacy
Shop Contact Lens Care or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for CVS Sterile Saline Solution

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CVS/pharmacy.

CVS Sterile Saline Solution

CVS/pharmacy
Overall rating:
1.75 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
9
25%3 of 12reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Review 1 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Bottle!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
from NJ
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
Why did they change the bottle design? The cap is hard to manage and the saline squirts everywhere but where you need it. I have to cut the top open and pour into a separate container.
Cons: terrible bottle design
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible bottle design making it impossible to use as directed! Will never buy again ever!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
It is just as others have said: the top was idiotically designed such that it's impossible to aim the stream at your actual lenses. Wasteful, non-environmental packaging. Annoying screw top. HATE HATE HATE USING IT! STAY AWAY!!!
Cons: bad design, annoying screw top, wasteful, hard to use
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still a good option for air travel

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer avatar
from Colorado
If you need preservative-free saline and need to travel carry-on, this is still one of the better solutions. You can take the 4 oz Unisol through the TSA line but must declare it (what were they thinking - why not 3 oz for their travel size?).
It is, unfortunately, true what others have been posting - they really made the bottle design dramatically worse in the new version. Hopefully CVS is reading this and will push the supplier to go back to something better. But I do still find it usable myself.
Pros: 3 oz for travel
Cons: bad bottle redesign
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible bottle design

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
It is as if someone TRIED to create the worst bottle design they could come up with. Cannot use these 3 oz bottles as eye droppers because the hole in the top is too big. The top also does not fit properly so the saline ended up in the bottom of my purse. I don't usually review products, but the bottle design is so stupid and frustrating that I felt compelled to review this product. I am throwing out the three other bottles. 100% waste of money.
Pros: none
Cons: bottle design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product was better left unchanged

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
from Maytown, PA
Gender: female
The new bottle is much to hard to open and very aggravating to puncture. After it is open the solution cannot be directed very well to where you want it. A BIG waste! It is much to large to carry in your purse. I was sad to see what a terrible change was made to your product. I'll not buy this saline solution until I learn it has gone back to the old bottles.
Cons: terrible bottle, will buy another product
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely HORRIBLE!!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
from Sugar Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
This new packaging, the round bottles with the blue cap... is the most aggravating thing EVER! I just spent 5 minutes trying to pierce the top, finally had to use a needle :( Even if you do get it pierced, the cap itself is SO hard to get on and off, the screw threads are just awful. Please go back to the previous bottles, flatter and had the small cap to pierce. Until the bottles change I'll spend more for Unisol, at least there bottle piercing works. I'm SO MAD!
Cons: piercing cap, threads to screw on top, overpriced
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the worst design ever

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
from mountain view, ca
Age: 35-44
The redesign of their bottle is awful. Plus you get less product than in their previous bottle. The top of the bottle is the size of a dime. It's IMPOSSIBLE to aim it, plus getting a hole punched through is pretty tricky too.
I don't travel so I don't care if it's tsa approved or not. What I do care about is functionality and quantity. I use preservative free saline because I'm allergic to preservatives.
These have a lot of plastic waste, especially now that you get even less saline than before.
If you must buy it here Unisol 4 has a much better designed bottle.
For whatever reason CVS is the only place I can buy preservative free saline in the actual store. Their prices aren't great, and now that the generic bottle is unusable I'm going to buy it online somewhere else.
Pros: no pros. just bad
Cons: bad design, poor value, tiny bottle, impossible to use, hard to grip, wasteful packaging
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
susie1
Manning South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about susie1 is loaded.
Additional information about susie1 could not be loaded.
Posted January 5, 2012
I hate these bottles. I don't know who came up with the idea, but they made a mistake. We like to travel and the size of them certainly is not very "packable". The tops are almost impossible to puncture, definitely not with the enclosed cap. I have Sjogrens syndrome and need the saline for my scleral lenses and it must be preservative free. PLEASE go back to your old design and soon. It seems like you went up in price and down in quality.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bottle design is horrible

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
from Virgin Islands
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Saline inside the bottle is terrific but it is impossible to get the cap to pierce the bottle and if you do get it pierced it squirts out diagonally and you can't hit the lens case without a lot of waste. Between that waste and the bottle leaking I am going through saline solution twice as fast as I should be.
The original bottle design was irritating because you had to screw on a really small lid and it wasn't threaded very well, but it was FAR superior to the new bottle design.
Please change bottle design!
Pros: great saline without preservative
Cons: can't get the bottle open, bottle leaks
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is good and economical

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Saline solution Great Value and meets our expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, carry-on size without price penalty!
Cons: cheap bottle falls over at times
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, economical
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bottle design non-functional

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Customer avatar
The latest design for this product renders it useless. I am returning my unused product. The cap is very smooth and hard to grip, which you need to do to tighten and puncture a hole on the bottle. Two of 4 bottles in the box could not be punctured, even when tightened as far as possible. When you do get it open, the spout is a concave rounded surface that dribbles saline and makes putting drops (just) in my eyes difficult, and squirting a stream for rinsing lenses is random.
Cons: bad design
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used to be great.

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Customer avatar
from Maine
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
This used to be a great product, especially for travel. I just bought a new supply, and the bottle design has been changed. Now the cap is very difficult to remove, and no matter how hard you screw it back on, it leaks. I am returning it to the store because it is of no use to me. I hope CVS will bring back the previous bottle design.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CVS Sterile Saline Solution
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right product, right size, why can't I buy it?

PostedJune 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Preservative-free, TSA-approved for carry-on, right price.
Come on CVS, stock this already!!!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, carry-on size without price penalty!
Cons: cheap bottle falls over at times
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PEBBLES
TEANECK,NJ
 
Please wait while more information about PEBBLES is loaded.
Additional information about PEBBLES could not be loaded.
GREAT PRODUCT- NEVER IN STOCK
Posted September 14, 2011
This is a great product, but unfortunately it is never in stock. I am hoping that the reason we are unable to get this product is because they are going back to the original bottle. The new one was the WORST. Please bring back the old shape as soon as possible!!! I agree, STOCK THIS ALREADY!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)