CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At CVS/pharmacy
Shop Antibiotic & Antiseptic or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment

CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment

CVS/pharmacy
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100%10 of 10reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Review 1 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the salve works extremely well - very pleased

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer avatar
from findlay, oh
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
the salve worked great. used for several weeks . very pleased with excellent results.
Pros: Meets expectations, worked well
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well on problem infections.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
from IL
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
Used this as a kid, Mother used it since a nurse indicated they used it extensively during WW2. Messy, so won't use it normally, but if there is a problem infection - definitely.
Pros: Meets expectations, works
Cons: hard to find, much more expensive recently, messy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent product for BOILS

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
from Branson
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
My husband sometimes gets boils & I use this drawing salve to get rid of them. I actually bought this tube for my sister, who also gets boils. Ichthammol Drawing Salve works GREAT!!! I checked around at local Pharmacies & CVS was the ONLY pharmacy that I could order it from. THX CVS
Pros: Great value
Cons: could not find it in cvs store in branson mo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old-time miracle ointment

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from Tampa, FL
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
We called it Black salve. It's the best to 'draw out' anything in or under the skin that shouldn't be there.
Pros: Great value, works great
Cons: it's black!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIRST AID MUST HAVE

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from East Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I'm not kidding, this is mandatory for your first-aid kit. Everyone should buy one. I first used ichthammol when I got a nasty 1/2 inch wood splinter (!) deep in my thumb. I could NOT get it out by myself. Someone recommended a "drawing salve" and this is what I got. Three days later, it practically popped out on it's own. No fuss, no infection, and it saved me an emergency room visit. Since then I've used it for more splinters, pimples, ingrown hairs/boils, and it has worked every time (usually in a day or two). It comes in 1 oz tube. That should last you 10 years because you only use a tiny dab each time. I just gave it away to a friend who needed it after a hiking trip, so I'm back buying another one. The only drawback is that it is pretty smelly and can be messy--but I'm just amazed it works so I could care less.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, works for splinters, draws out boils as well as infections, easy to use, it really works!
Cons: dark and smelly, strong odor, messy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A life saver

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Fulton county,ga
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
This product work wonders especially for underarm ingrown hair
Pros: Meets expectations
Cons: smell
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THANK GOODNESS!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
from greenville, il
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
my toddler ended up with a splinter under his toenail, we could not get it out with the tweezers, so we put a little dab on a band aid over night and, it came right out!
Pros: Meets expectations, it really works!
Cons: dark and smelly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for removing splinters!!

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
I have been dealing with a large splinter in my finger for over a week now. The pharmacist at CVS recommended this product to me yesterday. I used it over night and the splinter popped out this morning, pain free! Amazing!
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Cons: very strong odor
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I give this product 5 stars

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
from Largo ,Florida
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
My older sister that passed 2 yrs ago recommended it to me and my wife to use on me many years ago because I worked outside on my job and I would get boils all the time.Sis was a home care nurse and said it should do the trick man was she ever right this ointment is great and I highly recommend it,I am retired now on disability and I get boils now and then and I need more this stuff last a long time.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, draws out boils well as well as the infection .
Cons: it smells like roofing tar but who cares as long
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CVS Drawing Salve Ichthammol Ointment
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really help with Boils

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
from bronx, ny
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I have suffered boils for about 5-6 years now. I don't have to go into how painful they can be. The most recent one I has been around for 4-5 days and I was tired of doing nothing and hoping for the best so I looked up how to treat them. I kept noticing Ichthammol popping up among other things. The easiest thing for me to do was buy this. I couldn't find Tumeric pill or powder at a short notice and I honestly did not want to mix stuff myself. The only thing I did was:
1)The night before a warm compress
2)Tea tree oil to help kill bacteria and Motrin for the pain
3)used the Ichthammol on a gauze pad for about 4-5 hours and immediately after another warm compress. five minutes later the boil started to drain.
I only wish i knew about this product earlier.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, quick acting, easy to use
Cons: smells like hosipital
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+65points
65of 65voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
JohninSouthJersey
Deptford, NJ
 
Please wait while more information about JohninSouthJersey is loaded.
Additional information about JohninSouthJersey could not be loaded.
Why is it not in stock???
Posted January 5, 2014
I went to 10 different CVS stores and then other drug stores and nobody has it in stock any more!!! What happened? I don't need it often. I bought it a few years ago but I'm out.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Customer avatar
Jusabby
Fulton county,ga
 
Please wait while more information about Jusabby is loaded.
Additional information about Jusabby could not be loaded.
Smells bad works great!!
Posted November 28, 2013
I purchased this to get rid of a ingrown hair under my arm and after applying this and a warm compress it work wonders!!yay!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)