CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At CVS/pharmacy
Shop Power Toothbrushes or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV

CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV

CVS/pharmacy
Overall rating:
3.105 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
53%10 of 19reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Review 1 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Clean Teeth well

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Fernandina Beach, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I had a Sonicare Elite for about 3 years before it died. It always felt very powerful and felt like I was just at the dentist after each brush. I wanted a new sonic toothbrush and saw CVS's brand next to a Sonicare. With all the features, the cheap price, and super cheap brush heads I thought I would give it a try.
What a disappointment! My manual toothbrush does better. This brush is very weak and I think it is because the bristles are crazy soft and can't send strong vibrations to the tooth surface. Also, you can't temporarily stop the brush to spit without going through all the cycles and then restarting the two minute timer like you can with the Sonicare. I guess you get what you pay for in this case and I am returning this product tomorrow. My suggestion is either pay the money for a Sonicare or save money and go with a regular toothbrush.
Cons: underpowered, brush head too soft, doesn't clean teeth well, no true stop function
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works well but replacement heads are hard to find.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I have had this toothbrush for years and it works well. However, CVS still does not carry the replacement brush heads in their stores and finding them online is a hit-or-miss proposition. I'm going to look into the heads suggested by another reviewer...
Pros: Great value, cleans great and has sanitizer.
Cons: brush heads are sold in cvs stores
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long lasting and great value

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Chicago
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I bought this toothbrush several years ago and it finally died, in the mean time, we had bought the name brand for my son and it has been replaced twice during the same time frame. I just ordered another one and expect to have the same long lifespan. It is a problem that you cannot buy they replacement toothbrushes in the stores, however, I take advantage of the online sales and never pay full cost for them like you would if you purchased them in the store. Oh yeah, I got 25% off the new toothbrush too - would have waited for a higher discount, but the battery only lasts SO LONG without recharging! :)
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dental Health Care

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Manchester, VT
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
My dentist is amazed at my dental health progress since beginning the use of the CVS Sonic Toothbrush. My periodontal disease has almost gone away! I love how clean my gums and teeth feel after using the brush. It takes me longer to take care of my teeth now, but it's well worth it! In the beginning I had a problem with drooling, but learned how to better use the brush, and no longer have any issues with its use. I, and my dentist, highly recommend this product! And it's cheaper than the brand names.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

just what i expected

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from altoona, pa
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
does a great job.the sonic toothbrush gets my teeth cleaner than any regular toothbrush.
Pros: Meets expectations
Cons: t
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great price, poor dental cleaning

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
from Lincoln, RI
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I just purchased this toothbrush because of price and confidence in the CVS brand name. Unfortunately, it appears the manufacturer concentrated on the marketing of the UV sanitizing base rather than the quality of the dental cleaning process. Teeth do not feel clean, unit does not stop charging nor does it advise when charging is needed. I will be returning it to CVS and pay a substantial difference for a well known brand.
Pros: great price
Cons: dental cleaning very poor
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality and Great Price

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Acton, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Just as good as Sonicare. I got this system on sale for ~$39.00. Included 4 toothbrush heads. Sonicare is ~$150 for equivalent. Only downside is that replacement heads are not sold in CVS stores. I hope CVS decides to sell the heads in store. I'm sure it would drastically increase sales of this product.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, long lasting
Cons: replacement heads only sold on line
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unable to buy replacement heads

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
I'm happy with the toothbrush itself, great savings over the name brand product, but now that I need to replace the head I can't find any. Stores don't carry them and they are perpetually out of stock online. Another reviewer mentioned alternative brand brush heads, I'll have to check those out. But CVS brand replacements are nonexistent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best product

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Sugar Land, Texas
I bought this sonic toothbrush before looking at other reviews. The timer on this did not work, but I never paid attention to the timer on my last electric toothbrush.
As someone already stated, none of the CVS stores carry the replacement brush heads. I checked four different CVS stores in my area. All of them had the toothbrush itself, but none of them had the replacement heads. So, you will have to go thru the trouble of ordering them online.
Pros: it seems to clean the teeth (?)
Cons: replacement heads aren't readily available
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have had this sonic brush for two and a half weeks now and I really like the way it cleans my teeth and gums. This product has more features then any other I have found in it's price range. I have 16 replacement brush heads for this sonic brush that I payed 32 dollars for. I have read other reviews that state brush heads can not be found, this is not the case as Meijer house brand sonic brush heads fit it and so do Pursonic S400 heads. Of course CVS sells the brush heads on line for this brush as well. Given the features and low cost brush heads this sonic brush seems to be a great value.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, low cost brush heads.
Cons: should carry cvs heads in store.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Sonic toothbrush is reliable

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I have had two CVS Sonic toothbrushes over the past 10 years and have liked them. The first one just died after about five year, and I dropped the second one and broke it. I will definitely replace it with anoth CVS Sonic.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buying Another One

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
After 2.5 years of heavy use, the toothbrush finally gave out. Heading out this week to buy another one. Great brush at a great price.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stopped Working A Few Weeks After Purchase

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
from New York
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Not well made. Stopped working a few weeks after I purchased it. I was too busy to return it and find the receipt. Since I get such fabulous discounts at CVS, I'm still ahead money wise. But still--bad product. Avoid.
Cons: poorly made
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product broke twice

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
from MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I got this toothbrush for Christmas and not even a month later it died; it just wouldn't turn on anymore. I returned the product and got a replacement which was working fine accept I was having a lot of trouble removing the brushes. Recently, the latest brush wouldn't come off and we had to use pliers. The attachment broke and now it is unusable. I'm not purchasing another, I think it's worth just buying a trusted brand if you are looking for something to last more than two months.
Cons: unreliable
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Replacement brushes are available

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
I've been using mine for at least 2 years and I have no complaints......replacement brushes are available on CVS.Com....
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love the toothbrush but can't get replacement brushes

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
from NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I have used my cvs sonic toothbrush for years and love how clean my teeth feel. I especially loved that the brushes were sanitized after each use. My only negative, but a big one, is that I can no longer get replacement brushes. I am very disappointed about this. Now I have to search for one that sanitizes and isn't real expensive.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Cons: can't buy replacement brushes
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SugarMag
Newport Beach, CA
 
Please wait while more information about SugarMag is loaded.
Additional information about SugarMag could not be loaded.
there's a replacement, see link below; cost is $18
Posted October 23, 2011
http://www.cvs.com/CVSApp/catalog/shop_product_detail.jsp?filterBy=&skuId=441148&productId=441148&navAction=push&navCount=3&no_new_crumb=true
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great toothbrush

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
I'm not certain why the other reviews were so terrible. However, I like this brush. I had used a Sonicare brush for over 10 years and although I liked it, when the battery died, I checked out my other options. This brush performs similarly to the Sonicare. Plus the entire pkg is less expensive, replacement brushes are less expensive and it includes a UV-sanitizer in the base. And the recommnedation to replace the brush is 6 months. Sonicare suggests 3 months. And with the Sonicare model I had, water would seep into the brush head mechanism and there was a tendency for mold to grow.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cannot buy replacement heads

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
from NC
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
Don't waste your money This is a clearance item but is not listed as such. I called to get replacement brushes and was told they were discontinuing this model and had no brushes and were ordering no replacements.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Perturbed
West Columbia, SC
 
Please wait while more information about Perturbed is loaded.
Additional information about Perturbed could not be loaded.
Cannot buy replacement heads
Posted September 4, 2011
I was wondering why in the world I could not find the replacement heads. Gahhhh! Had I known I couldn't buy replacement heads, I definitely would not have spent the money on the CVS Sonic Toothbrush System. I am glad I did not throw out my OralB Braun!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

just a toothbrush

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer avatar
from rhode island
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Was very dissatified with product. Felt that the toothbrush did not have enough power too it . Felt like the toothbrush was running on a dead battery and its being powered electricty. My Teeth didnt feel clean after brushing. Felt like I was brushing my teeth with my fingers...It hardly did the job. I asked two family members to try the toothbrush as well and they too were dissatified. i feel that this product was just an over priced manual toothbrush!
Pros: nice looking, easy storage, sanatizes brushes
Cons: not enough power, toothbrush too small, over priced
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
wavedeva
New York
 
Please wait while more information about wavedeva is loaded.
Additional information about wavedeva could not be loaded.
Stoppped Working After a Month!
Posted August 21, 2011
CVS needs to go back to the drawing board with this brush. Mine went dead in less than a month. I was too busy to try and get a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)