CVS/pharmacy Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV

CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV

CVS/pharmacy
Overall rating:
2.68 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
11
40%10 of 25reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Review 1 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Totally disappointed in this product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
from Oldsmar, FL
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
Could not get this product to turn on or off without pressing the power button multiple times. Also did not operate at 36,000 vibrations per minute as advertised. In fact my old $20 Oral-B Sonic performed better.
Cons: not worth the money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible - Waste of Money

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
from Bedford, NH
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I've had a Philips Sonic Toothbrush in the past, so maybe I'm spoiled, but this product is absolutely worthless. Any pressure against your teeth and the bristle vibrations stop. It's simply not well designed. This has to rate as one of the worst products I've ever tried.
Usually CVS brand products are pretty good, but this one is not. I unfortunately threw away the packaging before I tried mine, so now I'm stuck with a $50 paperweight.
Pros: base is well designed. pops brush heads in top
Cons: terrible toothbrush. a twig would work better, everything else.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No replacement brushes

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
CVS does not sell replacement brushes. Do not buy this product.
Cons: no replacement brushes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
from CONNETICUT
Gender: female
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I purchased this product and have been useing it for 2 years every time I tried to find replacement heads I got the run around I liked the way it cleaned but sense I cant find new heads for it I guess I will have to buy a new tooth brush I think I'll go to walmart !!!!!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED IN CVS THEY STILL SEE THE TOOTHBRUSH AMAZING
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

can't buy replacement heads

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer avatar
from La Quinta, Ca
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
The toothbrush was effective, until I needed to purchase additional toothbrush heads. And guess what, CVS doesn't carry them anymore. How can the store still carry and sell the base unit, but not have new brush heads available???? This makes the product obsolete.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cant buy replacement brushes

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from cleveland, ohio
Age: Over 65
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
It is impossible to buy replacement heads for this product either in the store or online. While I like the product and would like to continue using it I will not be able to if I can't replace the brush head.
Cons: cant buy replacement brushes
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Clean Teeth well

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from Fernandina Beach, FL
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
ExtraCare Member: Yes
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I had a Sonicare Elite for about 3 years before it died. It always felt very powerful and felt like I was just at the dentist after each brush. I wanted a new sonic toothbrush and saw CVS's brand next to a Sonicare. With all the features, the cheap price, and super cheap brush heads I thought I would give it a try.
What a disappointment! My manual toothbrush does better. This brush is very weak and I think it is because the bristles are crazy soft and can't send strong vibrations to the tooth surface. Also, you can't temporarily stop the brush to spit without going through all the cycles and then restarting the two minute timer like you can with the Sonicare. I guess you get what you pay for in this case and I am returning this product tomorrow. My suggestion is either pay the money for a Sonicare or save money and go with a regular toothbrush.
Cons: underpowered, brush head too soft, doesn't clean teeth well, no true stop function
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works well but replacement heads are hard to find.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
ExtraCare Member: No
Beauty Club Member: No
CVS/pharmacy associate: No
I have had this toothbrush for years and it works well. However, CVS still does not carry the replacement brush heads in their stores and finding them online is a hit-or-miss proposition. I'm going to look into the heads suggested by another reviewer...
Pros: Great value, cleans great and has sanitizer.
Cons: brush heads are sold in cvs stores
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long lasting and great value

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Chicago
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I bought this toothbrush several years ago and it finally died, in the mean time, we had bought the name brand for my son and it has been replaced twice during the same time frame. I just ordered another one and expect to have the same long lifespan. It is a problem that you cannot buy they replacement toothbrushes in the stores, however, I take advantage of the online sales and never pay full cost for them like you would if you purchased them in the store. Oh yeah, I got 25% off the new toothbrush too - would have waited for a higher discount, but the battery only lasts SO LONG without recharging! :)
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Dental Health Care

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
from Manchester, VT
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
My dentist is amazed at my dental health progress since beginning the use of the CVS Sonic Toothbrush. My periodontal disease has almost gone away! I love how clean my gums and teeth feel after using the brush. It takes me longer to take care of my teeth now, but it's well worth it! In the beginning I had a problem with drooling, but learned how to better use the brush, and no longer have any issues with its use. I, and my dentist, highly recommend this product! And it's cheaper than the brand names.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

just what i expected

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
from altoona, pa
Age: Over 65
Gender: female
does a great job.the sonic toothbrush gets my teeth cleaner than any regular toothbrush.
Pros: Meets expectations
Cons: t
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great price, poor dental cleaning

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
from Lincoln, RI
Age: 55-65
Gender: female
I just purchased this toothbrush because of price and confidence in the CVS brand name. Unfortunately, it appears the manufacturer concentrated on the marketing of the UV sanitizing base rather than the quality of the dental cleaning process. Teeth do not feel clean, unit does not stop charging nor does it advise when charging is needed. I will be returning it to CVS and pay a substantial difference for a well known brand.
Pros: great price
Cons: dental cleaning very poor
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality and Great Price

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
from Acton, MA
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
Just as good as Sonicare. I got this system on sale for ~$39.00. Included 4 toothbrush heads. Sonicare is ~$150 for equivalent. Only downside is that replacement heads are not sold in CVS stores. I hope CVS decides to sell the heads in store. I'm sure it would drastically increase sales of this product.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, long lasting
Cons: replacement heads only sold on line
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unable to buy replacement heads

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
from Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Gender: female
I'm happy with the toothbrush itself, great savings over the name brand product, but now that I need to replace the head I can't find any. Stores don't carry them and they are perpetually out of stock online. Another reviewer mentioned alternative brand brush heads, I'll have to check those out. But CVS brand replacements are nonexistent.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the best product

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
from Sugar Land, Texas
I bought this sonic toothbrush before looking at other reviews. The timer on this did not work, but I never paid attention to the timer on my last electric toothbrush.
As someone already stated, none of the CVS stores carry the replacement brush heads. I checked four different CVS stores in my area. All of them had the toothbrush itself, but none of them had the replacement heads. So, you will have to go thru the trouble of ordering them online.
Pros: it seems to clean the teeth (?)
Cons: replacement heads aren't readily available
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
from Ohio
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
I have had this sonic brush for two and a half weeks now and I really like the way it cleans my teeth and gums. This product has more features then any other I have found in it's price range. I have 16 replacement brush heads for this sonic brush that I payed 32 dollars for. I have read other reviews that state brush heads can not be found, this is not the case as Meijer house brand sonic brush heads fit it and so do Pursonic S400 heads. Of course CVS sells the brush heads on line for this brush as well. Given the features and low cost brush heads this sonic brush seems to be a great value.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations, low cost brush heads.
Cons: should carry cvs heads in store.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Sonic toothbrush is reliable

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
Age: 55-65
Gender: male
I have had two CVS Sonic toothbrushes over the past 10 years and have liked them. The first one just died after about five year, and I dropped the second one and broke it. I will definitely replace it with anoth CVS Sonic.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buying Another One

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
from Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Gender: male
After 2.5 years of heavy use, the toothbrush finally gave out. Heading out this week to buy another one. Great brush at a great price.
Pros: Great value, Meets expectations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stopped Working A Few Weeks After Purchase

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
from New York
Age: 45-54
Gender: female
Not well made. Stopped working a few weeks after I purchased it. I was too busy to return it and find the receipt. Since I get such fabulous discounts at CVS, I'm still ahead money wise. But still--bad product. Avoid.
Cons: poorly made
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CVS Rechargeable Sonic Toothbrush with UV Sanitizing Charger Base, Model 421CUV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this product broke twice

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer avatar
from MA
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
I got this toothbrush for Christmas and not even a month later it died; it just wouldn't turn on anymore. I returned the product and got a replacement which was working fine accept I was having a lot of trouble removing the brushes. Recently, the latest brush wouldn't come off and we had to use pliers. The attachment broke and now it is unusable. I'm not purchasing another, I think it's worth just buying a trusted brand if you are looking for something to last more than two months.
Cons: unreliable
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>